# Crediton Town Council



# Minutes of the Annual Meeting of the Town Council held on 15 May, 2007



Present: Councillors Miss J Harris (Vice-Chairman)

Mr W Brown
Mr N Way
Mr R Adams
Mr D Nation
Mr P Finnegan
Mr R Wright

In Attendance: Clerk Mr M Maggs

Public

**Press** 

# 1. Election of Chairman of the Council and Town Mayor

In the absence of the outgoing Chairman, the Vice-Chairman presided. She requested written nominations for Chairman of the Council/Town Mayor.

Councillor Miss J Harris was elected Chairman and Town Mayor for the municipal year 2007/2008.

The Chairman announced that she would be happy to serve the Council but, due to work commitments, she would value the help and support of an active Vice-Chairman. The Clerk was asked to explain the procedure for filling vacancies (3) following an uncontested election.

# 2. Apologies

Apologies were received from Mr R Edwards (personal commitment), Councillor Mr F Letch (personal commitment) and Councillor Mr J Downes (indisposed).

#### 3. Declarations of Acceptance of Office

# a) Chairman's Declaration

Councillor Harris signed the Chairman's Declaration of Acceptance of Office, which was witnessed by the Clerk.

#### b) Councillors' Declarations

Those councillors present at the meeting who had not already done so, returned signed Declarations of Acceptance of Office, which were witnessed by the Clerk.

#### 4. Mayoress/Mayor's Escort for 2007/2008

The Chairman chose not to nominate a Mayor's Escort.

#### 5. Declarations of Interest

Councillors Nation, Way and Wright, as members of more than one authority, declared that that any views expressed at this meeting were provisional and may change at a meeting of another authority.

There were no other declarations of interest.

# 6. Election of Vice-Chairman of the Council and Deputy Town Mayor

The Chairman requested written nominations for Vice-Chairman/Deputy Town Mayor. Councillor Mr J Downes was elected for the municipal year 2007/2008 (Councillor Downes had provided his prior consent to being nominated).

# 7. Appointment of Committees, Sub Committees and Working Groups

# a) General Purposes Committee

It was proposed and agreed that the General Purposes Committee would consist of the following members: Councillors Miss J Harris, Mr W Brown, Mr R Adams, Mr F Letch, Mr P Finnegan, Mr D Nation and Mr R Wright. The Chairman and Vice Chairman of the General Purposes Committee would be decided at the first meeting of the committee.

#### b) Finance Committee

Deferred until existing councillor vacancies had been filled.

#### c) Allotments Sub Committee

Deferred until existing councillor vacancies had been filled.

# d) Floral Crediton Sub Committee

Deferred until existing councillor vacancies had been filled.

# e) Parish Paths Sub Committee

It was proposed and agreed that the Parish Paths Sub Committee would be:

Mr I Sneddon, Councillors Mr R Wright and Mr F Letch.

#### f) Administration & Personnel Sub Committee

Deferred until existing councillor vacancies had been filled.

## 8. Appointment of Representatives

It was agreed that all appointments would be reconsidered at the October Council meeting. The following elected representatives were appointed (absent councillors had provided prior indication of their willingness to being appointed):

#### a) Town Square Advisory Group

Councillor Mr J Downes

# b) CLAG (Crediton Area Group Mid-Devon Community Safety Partnership)

Councillor Mr R Wright

# c) Crediton Area Management & Marketing

Councillor Mr D Nation

## d) Devon Association of Parish Councils (County Committee & Larger Councils Sub)

Councillor Mr W Brown

#### e) Market & Coastal Town Initiative

Councillor Mr D Nation

#### f) Mid Devon PCT Care Services Project

Councillor Mr D Nation

## g) AQMA Steering Group

Councillor Mr R Adams

# h) Crediton Twinning Association

Councillor Mr J Downes

#### i) Monthly Chamber of Commerce Meetings

Councillor Mr D Nation

# i) Police Liaison Meeting

Councillors Miss J Harris, Mr R Adams, Mr W brown, Mr R Wright

#### k) Boniface Link Association

Councillor Mr J Downes (to be confirmed)

# 1) Friends of Crediton Station

Councillor Mr N Way

#### m) Lords Meadow Business Forum

Councillor Mr D Nation

#### n) Crediton 2009 Committee

Councillor Mr J Downes

#### o) Crediton Transport Action Group

Councillor Mr R Wright

# **Charity Governors**

Appointments of Charity Governors were confirmed as follows:

p) Haywards Educational Foundation Mrs G Ponsford

g) Crediton United Charities Mrs G Ponsford and Councillor Miss J Harris

Meeting closed at approximately 7.15pm.

Signed: (J Harris – Chairman)

Date: