Crediton Town Council



Minutes of the Annual Meeting of the Council held on 20 May, 2008

Present: Councillors Mr F Letch (Chairman)

Miss J Harris (Outgoing Chairman)

Mr J Downes

Mrs L Brookes-Hocking

Mr W Brown
Mrs A Hughes
Mr R Adams
Mr D Nation
Mr P Finnegan
Mrs L Scarbrough

Mr R Wright

In Attendance: Clerk Mr M Maggs

Public 6 Press 1

1. Chairman of the Council and Town Mayor

The outgoing Chairman took the chair for this item only. Councillor Letch was confirmed as Chairman and Town Mayor for the municipal year 2008/2009.

The Chairman announced that he was pleased and proud to represent the Council and the people of the town. After having returned from Italy, he hoped that he would have an opportunity to develop a closer association with communities in other countries and continue to build on existing links.

2. Declarations of Acceptance of Office

Councillor Letch signed the Chairman's Declaration of Acceptance of Office, which was witnessed by the Clerk.

3. Apologies

Apologies were received from Mr N Way (personal commitment).

4. Declarations of Interest

None.

5. Mayoress/Mayor's Escort for 2008/2009

The Chairman nominated Mrs N Letch as Town Mayoress for the municipal year 2008/2009.

6. Election of Vice-Chairman of the Council and Deputy Town Mayor

The Chairman requested written nominations for Vice-Chairman/Deputy Town Mayor. Councillor Miss J Harris was elected for the municipal year 2008/2009. Councillor Harris was thanked for her work as Chairman for 2007/8.

7. Appointment of Committees, Sub Committees and Working Groups

a) General Purposes Committee

It was proposed and agreed that the General Purposes Committee would consist of the following members: Councillors Mr F Letch, Miss J Harris, Mrs L Brookes-Hocking, Mr W Brown, Mr R Adams, Mrs A Hughes, Mrs L Scarbrough, Mr P Finnegan and Mr R Wright. The Chairman and Vice Chairman of the General Purposes Committee would be decided at the first meeting of the committee.

b) Finance Committee

It was proposed and agreed that the Finance Committee would consist of the following members:

The Chairman, Vice Chairman, Councillors Mrs L Brookes-Hocking, Mr R Wright, Mr R Adams, Mrs A Hughes, Mrs L Scarbrough, Mr D Nation and Mr J Downes.

c) Allotments Sub Committee

It was proposed and agreed that the Allotments Sub Committee would consist of the following members:

Councillors Miss J Harris, Mr F Letch and Mr R Adams.

d) Parish Paths Partnership Sub Committee

It was proposed and agreed that the Parish Paths Sub Committee would consist of the following members of the Council and the community:

Mr R Edwards, Councillors Mr R Wright and Mr F Letch.

The retiring co-ordinator, Mr I Sneddon, was thanked for his long and valuable service. A replacement co-ordinator would be appointed later in the year and would be a member of the Sub Committee.

e) Administration & Personnel Sub Committee

It was proposed and agreed that the Administration & Personnel Sub Committee would consist of the following members:

The Chairman, Vice Chairman, Councillors Mrs L Brookes-Hocking, Mr R Adams, Mrs L Scarbrough and Mrs A Hughes.

f) Floral Crediton Working Group

It was proposed and agreed that the Floral Crediton Working Group would consist of the following members of the Council (members of the community would be invited to join at a later stage):

Councillors Miss J Harris, Mr F Letch, Mrs A Hughes and Mrs L Brookes-Hocking.

g) Communications Working Group

It was proposed and agreed that the Communications Working Group would consist of the following members of the Council (members of the community would be invited to join at a later stage):

Councillors Mrs L Brookes-Hocking, Mr D Nation and Mr J Downes.

h) Peoples Park & Scout Memorial Gardens Working Group

It was proposed and agreed that the Peoples Park & Scout Memorial Gardens Working Group would consist of the following members of the Council (members of the community would be invited to join at a later stage):

Councillors Mr R Wright, Mr W Brown, Mr N Way, Mr P Finnegan, Mrs A Hughes, Mrs L Scarbrough.

8. Appointment of Charity Governors

Appointments of Charity Governors were confirmed as follows:

a) Haywards Educational Foundation Mrs G Ponsford

b) Crediton United Charities Mrs G Ponsford and Councillor Miss J Harris

9. Appointment of Representatives

The following elected representatives were appointed (absent councillors had provided prior indication of their willingness to being appointed):

a) Market & Coastal Town Initiative (Devon Towns Forum)

Councillors Mr D Nation and Mrs L Brookes-Hocking.

b) Devon Association of Parish Councils (County Committee & Larger Councils Sub Committee)

Councillor Mrs L Brookes-Hocking.

c) Crediton Area Management & Marketing

Councillor Mr D Nation

d) Crediton Twinning Association

Councillors Mrs A Hughes and Mrs L Scarbrough.

e) Monthly Chamber of Commerce Meetings

Councillor Mr D Nation

f) Police Liaison Meeting

Councillors Mr F Letch, Miss J Harris, Mr W Brown, Mr R Wright.

g) Boniface Link Association

Councillor Mrs L Scarbrough

h) CLAG (Crediton Area Group Mid-Devon Community Safety Partnership)

Councillors Mr R Wright and Mr R Adams.

i) Friends of Crediton Station

Councillors Mr N Way and Mr J Downes.

j) Lords Meadow Business Forum

Councillor Mr D Nation.

k) Mid Devon PCT Care Services Project

Councillor Mr D Nation.

I) AQMA Steering Group

Councillor Mr R Adams.

m) Crediton 2009 Committee

Councillor Mr J Downes.

n) Crediton Transport Action Group

Councillor Mr R Wright.

o) Crediton Climate Action Group

Councillors Mr R Wright and Mr J Downes.

p) Crediton Hospital Campaign Group

Councillor Mr D Nation.

q) Crediton Fairtrade Partnership

Councillors Mr D Nation and Mrs L Scarbrough.

r) Crediton Childrens' Centre Management Group

Councillor Mrs A Hughes.

Meeting closed at approximately 7.45pm.

Signed:	(F Letch – Chairman)
Date:	